A brief history of Bucerias and the Bay of Banderas
By Fernando Elizondo Montaño
was founded on May 26th of 1936 and registered as a settlement on
October 14th of 1937 under the presidency of Lazaro Cardenas del
Rio, occupying a territory of 1928 hectares of which 17% was farmable.
president of the Ejido committees was Don Pablo Muñez and the first
auxiliary judge Don Pedro Ibarra. Theirs was the task of registering
it under the new name of Bucerias since the place as recorded on
the existing maps was denominated "Santa Julia de las Tablas".
This name arose from the fact that the region was known for its
extraction of tropical wood such as Tampiciran, Palo Fierro (used
today fro handicraft and sold on the beaches presenting diverse
forms), Amapa, Huanacaxtle, Brazil and many other species which
were sent by ships to the old world.
The new name
Bucerias was adopted due to the fact that the major activities that
the inhabitants undertook were divided in the following manner:
diving (buceo) and fishing 60%, farming of corn and beans (20%),
extraction of coconut oil for soaps 10%, hunting 5% and the rest
for cattle raising. From here derives the new name since the majority
of the inhabitants were divers.
to the data of the Spanish chronicles the Bay was recorded during
the conquest as "Ensenada de Banderas" for a short period
of time, later being changed Bahia de Banderas due to its real shape.
the Spanish arrival the region of Bucerias was the sacred grounds
where the inhabitants of the legendary Tintoc, with a population
of more than 10,000 buried their dead there in 2 phases: one was
a temporary burial until the body decomposed (one year). During
this period a rock sculptured human figure of approximately 70 cm.
was placed in the rear and are considered to be burial guards. These
figures accordingly indicated the sex of the buried one*.
This primary tomb was then desoccupied and used again for another
of this era believed that the bodies underwent a transformation
process and were only considered dead until they were a year old
and once they were converted into skeletons, the second phase began.
During this phase they were reburied in other areas in baked clay
pots. On the site, they placed a long thick stick at the end of
which they placed a dissected white heron in flight position. This
according to their customs would help the dead one on his journey
into the beyond.
Upon the arrival
of the Spaniards by sea, and due to the fear of the Indian tribes
Inhabiting the area at a distance they saw, the herons that looked
like flags. This is how the Ensenada de Banderas and now Bahia de
Banderas came to be.
of these pieces of the conquest era were stolen from the sacred
ground, where Bucerias is now and hidden in the village of San Vicente.
They were recently found and now are on exhibit in the regional
museum of Bahia de Banderas, Located in Nuevo Vallarta.
Las Palmas Vacation Rentals, Property Management and Real Estate Sales Lazaro Cardenas 27 Bucerias, NayaritMexico Tel. 011-52-329-298-0060 Fax. 011-52-329-298-0061 firstname.lastname@example.org
At Las palmas Real Estate, we take the best care of your needs while looking for the right place to vacation in our beautiful locations.
Rest assured we will find those perfect beachfront vacation rentals in Bucerias, or even that beachfront real estate in Bucerias you are looking for.
Welcome to Bucerias.